Treasury slaps sanctions on firms aiding Russia security service
© Getty Images

The Trump administration on Monday announced sanctions against five Russian entities and three Russian nationals for aiding the Kremlin’s domestic security service.

The Treasury Department targeted five companies and technology firms as well as three executives from one of the companies, all of whom are accused of aiding Russia’s Federal Security Service (FSB).

The sanctioned targets are banned from the U.S. financial system and American citizens and business are prohibited from any transactions with them.

The penalties were issued under the Russian sanctions law Congress passed last year and a 2015 executive order targeting cyber crime. The Treasury Department targeted the FSB with sanctions in March for its involvement in several Kremlin-led cyberattacks.

The FSB was also one of several entities sanctioned by then-President Obama in December 2016 in relation to Russian hacking of Democratic political organizations and operatives during the presidential race that year.

Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said in a statement Monday that the targets of the new sanctions helped the FSB improve its cyber and underwater operations “and therefore jeopardize the safety and security of the United States and our allies.”

Mnuchin said the U.S. is committed to “aggressively targeting” anyone aiding the FSB, saying the U.S. would do so under the 2017 sanctions law, known as the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act.

Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC), which administers…